Tractors Parked in the Crop Field

Boards &



ABC Board


Oversee operations of ABC System and carry out the ABC laws.  Adopt rules for ABC System subject to the approval of the ABC Commission.  Hire/fire ABC employees.  Advise Administrator. ( 3 year terms)



3rd Wednesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. – ABC Office



Tony Mitchell, Chairman

Graham Dailey 

Jon A. Crispin

C. Keith Tatum

Wayne Barker

Agricultural Advisory Committee


To promote agricultural values and general welfare of the county.  Specifically, increase identity and pride in the agricultural community and its way of life; encourage the economic and financial health of agriculture; and increase protection from non-farm development and other negative impacts on properly managed farms. 

Committee Duties include:

  • Review and approve applications for qualified farmland and voluntary agricultural districts and make recommendations concerning the establishment and modification of agricultural district;

  • Conduct public hearings;

  • Advise the Board of Commissioners on projects, programs or issues affecting the agricultural economy or activities within the county that will affect agricultural districts;

  • Review and make recommendations concerning proposed amendments to this ordinance;

  • Study additional methods of farmland preservation and make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners; and

  • Perform other agricultural related tasks or duties assigned by the Board of Commissioners.



Meets 3rd Thursday of the third month of each quarter at 7:00 p.m. at the Planning Department office.



Lucas Bernard - Chairman

Elizabeth Mason - Vice Chair

C. Hester Vernon 

David Byrd

Tony Kirby

Emily Buchanan

Kin Watlington

Matthew Hoagland (ex-officio)

Steve Oestreicher (ex-officio)


Board of Adjustment


Quasi-judicial decisions:  Hears zoning appeals, variances, special and conditional use permits.



Meets 3rd Tuesday of each month if needed at 2:00 p.m. at the Gunn Memorial Library



Tim Yarbrough, Chairman

Nikki S. Turner, Vice Chair

Stephen Barmann

John Claggett

Ray Shaffner

Board of Adjustment

Board of Adjustment

Board of Adjustment